Sweet Sandwich

30 Apr

Hometown Taste Prompt:

Peeling the wrapper away from the warm spongy cupcake, I cross my fingers and inhale a sweet, frosting-laced breath. Please let this be it. The kitchen is strewn with batter; powdered sugar clouds the air and comes to rest on the faucet and the formerly clean drying dishes. There’s a splotch of buttercream on my nose. The moment to truth. I bite into the soft yellow cupcake, through the frosting and the filling. Mmmm. That’s good. Delicious? Certainly. Prize-winning? Possibly. But right? The truth is, no cupcake is ever going to taste like this place. My hometown tastes like the metallic flavor of sand in your mouth, like the salty crispness of ocean water or cool, mercy gulps of the pond. It tastes like ice cream on a Saturday afternoon, and sandwiches on a Sunday morning. It tastes like stale movie popcorn, and laughter and pancakes. Like the smell of fallen leaves and apple cider and gingerbread cookies drizzled with white icing and arranged on the Christmas plate. I suppose it tastes like lobster too, like clams and shrimp and seafood, but all I taste there is butter. It does definitely taste like fish and chips and tartar sauce and cole slaw. It tastes like all of my mom’s best dishes and my Nana’s holiday dinners. My hometown is called Sandwich Massachusetts, and I promise you, it’s delicious.

Leave a Reply

